top of page

Team Canada Alert!!

Manitoba's Caleb Baranyk is the latest player to get chance to wear the Red and White at the recent IHF Trophy tournament where Canada finished first in the tournament to move onto the next stage before worlds! The MTHF got a chance to ask Caleb some questions about his experience in the tournament and as a MTHF player! See Caleb's answers below for a glimpse at the mind of one our stand out players!

Caleb Baranyk

(MTHF): How long have you been playing handball? Where did you start playing?

(Caleb): This is currently my fifth year playing handball. I started playing in grade 9 at Dakota Collegiate, and am currently in my second year playing with the provincial program.

(MTHF): What tournament did you attend recently?

(Caleb): I was recently in Chicago representing the Team Canada youth team in the IHF Trophy. This was the continental phase and included the Mexico, Guadeloupe, and Martinique teams.

(MTHF): How did you get chance to play for the National Team?

(Caleb): I got the chance to play for the youth National Team by attending an open National camp in October. It was a four day camp held in Montreal, and the team was selected based off of the camp.

(MTHF): How did your team do and what's next for the team?

(Caleb):We won the tournament and are now ranked as #1 in North America. As a team we will prepare for the next round of the IHF Trophy phase which includes 6 teams, each the winner of their continental phases.

(MTHF): How was your first international experience?

(Caleb): My first international experience was amazing! Getting to represent Canada has been a goal of mine for a long time, so being able to accomplish that felt great. Getting to play at a level where the game is more physical and faster paced makes the game even more enjoyable for me. It challenged me to reach my potential and play my absolute best at all moments of the game. I’m very grateful to be able to play along side very skilled players from around the country and receive excellent coaching. Having the opportunity to represent Canada, and end up winning the tournament has made this experience truly unforgettable.

(MTHF): How did you prepare for this tournament?

(Caleb): I had only been able to play with the team at the camp that I attended in October. We got to practice together again throughout the tournament, but before the tournament, I had only been able to prepare with the team at the camp. Personally, I prepared for the tournament by attending the Provincial Team practices in which I was able to work on my personal game and maintain in good physical shape to play in an international tournament.

(MTHF): What got you here today to make you the player you are now?

(Caleb): I feel there are many things that have helped me get to the place I am today. First of all is hard work. I make it a priority to make it to as many practices as I can in which I can work on all of my skills to become a better player overall. Staying focused, working hard, and pushing myself no matter what the drill is has helped me improve to the level I’m at now. Along with that comes the coaching that I have received from all levels, from high school, the provincial team, and now the national team. Each level has provided me with new knowledge and techniques that have helped me become a stronger and more confident player. I also get to practice with very good players who challenge all aspects of my game, and help me improve in the places of my game that need work. I try and set goals for myself no matter how unlikely they might be, and I work towards it. I keep those goals in the back of mind and use that to try and make sure that I’m training, and performing at the best level I can be which has helped me get to the level I’m at now.

(MTHF): What advice would you give a player looking to play at the provincial level and at the national level?

(Caleb):For players looking at playing at the provincial and national level I would advise them go for it and enjoy yourself. Go out to practices, camps, or tryouts no matter your level and try your best at all times and learn something. Dedicate the time and energy and commit to learning by practicing and working to improve all aspects of your game. But most of all, just have fun with it. At the end of the day its just a game, so enjoy playing and being able to improve as a player.

Congrats again to Caleb on this great accomplishment!


bottom of page